what I want out of life (Age 28)

2016, age 28

Shaan Puri
2 min readJul 16, 2016

I want to have the ability to shape my life. I want to be my own biggest fan. I want to make adversity part of the recipe. I want to treat other people well. I want to I want to re-read this, every morning, so that I never forget what each day is for. I want to re-write this list every year, so I can see myself evolving. I want to focus on what matters. #1 My loved ones, because they love me even if I don’t do anything on this list. #2 my health, because without it I can’t do anything on this list. #3 my work, because it makes life fun. #4 being someone who lights up a room, because it feels good to make others feel good. #5 learning, because it’s the master key that unlocks all other doors. I want to be happy during the journey AND at the destination, whatever destination that may be. I want to surround myself with people who laugh early and often. Laughter is my vacation. I don’t want to sleepwalk through life. I want to remember that life is not about what stuff you get, it’s about who you become. I want to be someone who doesn’t need a reason to be happy. I want to wakeup early, so I have time to turn my ideas into reality. I want to eat clean, so I have the energy to be myself. I want to workout, so that I can look like a fucking ninja. I want to be someone who doesn’t just want things, but makes them happen. I want my execution to catch up with my ideas. I want to be the most optimistic person you know. The most helpful person you know. I want to win, but not just win. I want to win on my own terms. Doing things differently, to prove that you don’t need to ‘follow the book’. I don’t know why, but I want that. I want to play with my kids. I want to spend the next few years creating a story that’s so great, that I can spend the next 20 years telling that story to others — inspiring them to create their own. I want to dress well. Like really well. Not just fancy, but unique. I like when people have great style. I want to build a business, start a school, do a standup set, write a song, and make a movie — in that order. want to be someone people look up to, because he made a plan for how he wanted to live life, and then he pulled it off. I want to not just want it, I want to make it happen.

-svp

--

--